Esme Parsons

DJG member Jane Moore interviews new designer Esme Parsons about her work.

Esme Parsons 191
Jane Moore and Esme Parsons at the Barbican Centre

JM: Esme, what has been your inspiration with this collection?

EP: I am inspired by urban city landscapes, modernist and brutalist buildings, graffiti, road markings etc. I like to take inspiration from the urban landscape that otherwise people would ignore. I can often be inspired by barbed wire or scaffolding.

JM: How do you approach the making process?

EP: I take many photos, sketch quick line drawings and make paper and card models until I am happy with the construction. I then start building the forms in silver.

JM: What other materials do you use?

EP: I prefer to work in silver because it enables me to enamel the pieces in bright opaque colours. Sifting gives me a spray effect which replicates the effects of graffiti.

JM: Have you always worked with enamel?

EP: During my first year at UCA (University for the Creative Arts) Rochester on my silversmithing and goldsmithing  course we had the good fortune to be taught enamelling by Louise O’Neill. I found her to be extremely inspiring.

I experimented and played with traditional enamelling techniques until again we had the very inspiring enameller Jessica Turrell to teach us on a short course.

JM: Do you spend much time testing enamel colours?

EP: I have my favourites but am always open to trying out new colours and I experiment with different size meshes until I am happy with the effects and results.

JM: Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

EP: I would very much like to exhibit abroad such as SOFA in the USA. Presently I am an artist in residence at Edinburgh University. I have access to all the facilities at the University and also space to work alongside teaching and helping the first and second year B.A. Students.

Having worked with these students I have realised that I would like to teach on a more permanent basis. I would also consider doing a Masters degree in the future but first I would like to consolidate my current work to see where it takes me.

Esme Parsons 198

Esme’s work is on display and for sale in the Designer Jewellers Group pop-up shop in the Barbican Centre, London, now until 27th December 2014.

Leave a Reply

