Sheila Roussel

Sheila Roussel is one of the very talented graduates that has joined the Designer Jewellers Group at this years Barbican Exhibition. Sheila talks to DJG member Michael Carpenter about her jewellery and inspiration.

MC: Hello Sheila, how did you start making jewellery?

SR: Well I have been interested in making jewellery for several years, selling wire and beaded jewellery at crafts fayres. But I wanted to learn how to take my hobby further and knew I needed a portfolio to apply to art school. I first studied textile art and then went on to study at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design and graduated this year with a 1st BDes (Hons) in Jewellery and Metalwork.

MC: How would you describe your work?

SR: My jewellery is inspired by keepsakes and interesting treasures, such as heirloom jewellery, photos, fragments of fabrics and lace and the sentiments attached to them. I have designed contemporary jewellery pieces conveying an individual story using sterling silver, silk, pearls and acrylic.

MC: You use a variety of techniques and materials in your jewellery.

SR: Yes, I create a series of personal keepsake brooches that use both photo etching and embossing to create an imprint of a wedding ring onto etched silver.

Sheila Roussel: brooch in hands cropped

The photo neckpieces have been created by taking perspex as the base and using cultured pearls to secure the silk photo images.

Sheila Roussel silk necklace

Another photo neckpiece has been designed using a silver “embroidery hoop” technique to secure the fabric image. Small perspex photo keepsakes have been laser etched and designed to incorporate a wedding ring.

I also laser etch lace patterns onto perspex with the addition of semi precious beads, and that has led me to develop wearable neckpieces and earrings.

MC: So what’s next for you Sheila?

SR: I was awarded the F & A Bradshaw bursary which enabled me to travel to Penland Craft School in North Carolina, and at the moment I am one of the Designers in Residence at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design.

I also work as a tutor to 2nd year jewellery and metalsmiths students, run an evening class for Adult Continuing Education and teach adults with learning disabilities.

I intend to continue to develop and explore new jewellery ranges.

MC: I can see you are very busy, thankyou Sheila.

You can see and buy Sheila’s work from the Designer Jewellers Group stand in the Barbican, London, until 27th December.

Leave a Reply

